Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Radar State - "Spinning Wheel"

Photo via Facebook
Bands like The Get Up Kids and The Anniversary are guilty pleasures for me. I always felt that I was a little bit too old to be into them back when both were at the height of their popularity. This was really driven home at a Get Ups Kids show I went to at the Worcester Palladium in 2001, which was the very first time I felt old at a show. I was 25. 

I was thrilled and hesitant when I first heard that there was a new supergroup formed from members of both The Get Up Kids and The Anniversary. Radar State features Matt Pryor and Jim Suptic of The Get Up Kids and Josh Berwanger of The Anniversary. Adam Phillips of Architects is on drums. The band has released the first song off their upcoming EP. "Spinning Wheel" sounds like classic, old school Get Up Kids, the kind of emo you can listen to in your 30s or more without embarrassment. It's just fast enough to have a punk edge but melodic as can possibly be. We'll see how the entire EP is with three frontmen and all, but if "Spinning Wheel" is any indication, the EP is promising, at the very least as a not-so-guilty pleasure.

You can listen to "Spinning Wheel" below. Radar State's self-titled EP will be out in September, and is now available in various pre-order packages here. For more on Radar State, check out their Facebook.

1 comment: