Tuesday, June 29, 2021

First Listen: New Releases for 25 June

Artist: Hurry
Album: Fake Ideas
Quick Thoughts: Hurry does a lot of great alt-rock, and has a few solid albums under their belt. Fake Ideas feels like an album from a band that has figured it out, and each song feels better than the last. It's a listen where I struggled in highlighting any specific songs, because they're all great, melodic alt-rock songs. Don't miss out.
Songs of Note: "It's Dangerous," "A Fake Idea," "Slogging Through Summer"

Artist: Lucy Dacus
Album: Home Video
Quick Thoughts: I don't think I'm speaking out of turn when I say that both Ken and I think "Night Shift" is a near-perfect song. So Lucy Dacus, with a great debut album, has a lot to live up to, and Home Video largely delivers. There are a lot of solid listens throughout, and it's thematically linked in many ways that was unexpected but welcome. This is definitely a better cohesive album than her debut, even if there isn't a song that reaches "Night Shift"-level heights.
Songs of Note: "Christine," "Hot and Heavy," "First Time"

Artist: Maple Glider
Album: To Enjoy is the Only Thing
Quick Thoughts: We love our folk music here, especially when it strays a little bit from the beaten path. I don't know how I tripped up on Maple Glider, but I get real Haley Hendrickx vibes with this. It's folk music for sure, but it's got a little something extra to it that makes it stand out. This is really brlliant, and I'm looking forward to spending more time with it.
Songs of Note: "As Tradition," "Be Mean, It's Kinder Than Crying"

Artist: MNDR
Album: Hell to Be You Baby
Quick Thoughts: In a year with a lot of solid pop music, MNDR might struggle to stand out at first glance. But some of these songs are true earworms, including the title track, that I continue to hum all weekend long. It's a busy week, for sure, but this is the pop album of the week by far.
Songs of Note: "Save Me," "Fragile," "Hell to Be You Baby"

Artist: Squirrel Flower
Album: Planet (i)
Quick Thoughts: We're fans of Squirrel Flower here, and Ken has been really pleased with the advance singles coming up on this release. This album feels a lot more raw and loud than her previous efforts, but it's all good - this is some pitch-perfect singer-songriter work here, and this one is highly likely to end up on a few year-end lists. Don't miss out on this album.
Songs of Note: "I'll Go Running," "Hurt a Fly," "Flames and Flat Tires"

Artist: Pom Pom Squad
Album: Death of a Cheerleader
Quick Thoughts: Put aside Olivia Rodrigo possibly/probably ripping off this aesthetic for the moment and just enjoy the indie pop/rock sounds coming from this record. We've loved everything we've heard up to now, and this is a great rock album with a number of excellent moments. On a whole, it's worth your time.
Songs of Note: "Head Cheerleader," "Lux"

Artist: The Mountain Goats
Album: Dark in Here
Quick Thoughts: Highlighting this in part because it's probably the best Mountain Goats record in years, but also because it has some solid songs throughout. If you've fallen off the bandwagon to a certain extent (as, truthfully, I have), don't skip this one. It's the closest to a return to form we've seen in a while.
Songs of Note: "Let Me Bathe in Demonic Light," "The Destruction of the Kola Superdeep Borehole Tower"

Artist: Faye Webster
Album: I Know I'm Funny haha
Quick Thoughts: Also wanted to highlight this. We're Faye Webster fanboys here, and this is a great album from an underheralded singer-songwriter. It's a super busy week, but give this one a listen as well. Definitely worth your time.
Songs of Note: "Kind Of," "Both All the Time"

Of note:

* Split Single - Amplificado (Some great power pop moments here.)
* Emily Davis and the Murder Police (Solid angsty folk-punk.)
* Spellling - The Turning Wheel (Spellling continues to be a truly interesting voice.)
* Modest Mouse - The Golden Casket (A lot of moments that harken back to their early days.)
* Phobophobes - Modern Medicine
* Gaspard Auge and Justice - Escapades
* Olivia Kaplan - Tonight Turns to Nothing
* Helvetia - Essential Aliens
* Hiatus Kaiyote - Mood Valiant
* Cedric Burnside - I Be Trying
* Azure Ray - Remedy
* French Girls - French Girls
* Eli Keszler - Icons
* Olivia Kaplan - Tonight Turns to Nothing
* Saint Sister - Where Should I End
* T. Hardy Morris - The Digital Age of Rome
* Six Organs of Admittance - The Veiled Sea
* The Marias - CINEMA
* Mother Mother - Inside
* JP Harris's Dreadful Wind and Rain - Don't You Marry No Railroad Man
* Hiss Golden Messenger - Quietly Blowing It
* Saint Motel - The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack


* Ellis - nothing is sacred anymore
* Njomza - LIMBO
* Wild Pink - 3 Songs
* Grumpy Plum - Would You Tell Me?
* Marina Allen - Candlepower
* Ida Maria - Dirty Money EP
* Elohim - Journey to the Center of Myself, Vol. 1
* RMBLR - M F / EP
* Flight Mode - TX, '98
* Jensen McRae - Who Hurt You?
* PINS - Piano Versions
* beabadoobee - Our Extended Play
* Ambar Lucid - Get Lost in the Music
* High Contrast - Notes_from_the_Underground_2.0_Remixes.zip
* LAUREL - Limbo Cherry
* Dir Orfeo - Millefleur

Live albums/Compilations/Reissues:

* Lady Gaga - Born This Way - The Tenth Anniversary
* The White Stripes - White Blood Cells (Deluxe)

Also out:

* The Uptights - it is for them that the lights twinkle
* The Hirs Collective - The Third 100 Songs

No comments:

Post a Comment