Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Caroline Rose - "Feel the Way I Want"

Photo by Cara Robbins
I was a ridiculously huge fan of Caroline Rose's 2018 album LONER, so I'm more than thrilled to have new music from her. Since LONER was such a huge departure from 2014's I Will Not Be Afraid, the big question is what will the follow up sound like?

If "Feel the Way I Want" is any indication, Rose is staying firmly in the weirdo pop world, but starting to edge her way into funk a little bit. "Feel the Way I Want" reminds me off an oddball early Michael Jackson or Prince. Rose's new album, Superstar, is a bit of a concept album about a wanna-be star on their path to be somebody. It's inspired by Rose's growing desires and her own ambition as well as other celebrities' very public breakdowns. Rose says "Feel the Way I Want" is designed to “...have people, including myself, not know whether to love or hate this person. They’re kind of like a walking eye roll who’s easy to dismiss, but at the same time you admire their determination. It’s the Kanye effect.” 

You can watch the video for "Feel the Way I Want" below. It was recorded during an eleven day road trip from Hollywood, CA to Hollywood, FL and features Rose's character dancing her way across the country to make an audition. Superstar, the new album from Caroline Rose, will be out March 6 on New West Records. You can pre-order the album here. For more on Caroline Rose, check out her website. Current tour dates are below the video.


Fri. March 6 - Albany, NY @ The Hollow
Sat. March 7 - Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Wed. March 11 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Café
Thu. March 12 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Café
Fri. March 13 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
Sat. March 14 - Columbus, OH @ Skully’s
Wed. March 25 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Thu. March 26 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Fri. March 27 - Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Sat. March 28 - Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Wed. April 1 - Iowa City, IA @ Mission Creek Music Festival
Thu. April 2 - Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall Ballroom
Fri. April 3 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. April 4 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Hall
Fri. April 24 - Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Sat. April 25 - Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall: Upstairs
Sun. April 26 - Austin, TX @ Antone’s
Tue. April 28 - New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Wed. April 29 - Oxford, MS @ Proud Larry’s
Thu. April 30 - Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
Fri. May 1 - Sun. May 3 - Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival

No comments:

Post a Comment