Thursday, April 11, 2019

Faye Webster featuring Father - "Flowers"

Photo by Eat Humans
After hearing the first single off her upcoming album we thought we had Atlanta's Faye Webster pegged. "Room Temperature" is a groovy indie country ballad heavy on pedal guitar. Her latest, "Flowers," couldn't be more different. "Flowers" features fellow Atlanta artist Father, and is a straight up hip hop/R&B song. In fact, the song is meant as an homage to Awful Records which is a hip hop collective that helped launch her career. We never would have guessed that based on "Room Temperature." While "Flowers" is a hip hop song, it's also an odd hip hop song. It's incredibly mellow, and doesn't have the beat or instrumentation anyone would ever expect with hip hop. But it's still hip hop, although weird in the best possible way.

You can watch the video for "Flowers" below. Atlanta Millionaires Club, the upcoming album from Faye Webster, will be out May 24 on Secretly Canadian. You can pre-order a copy here. For more on Faye Webster, check out her website. Current tour dates are below the video.


Mon. April 22 – Nashville, TN – Ryman Auditorium %
Tue. April 23 - Louisville, KY @ Louisville Palace %
Thu. April 25 - Birmingham, AL @ Iron City %
Fri. April 26 - Athens, GA @ 40 Watt %
Sat. April 27 - Charlotte, NC @ Fillmore Charlotte %
Mon. April 29 - Orlando, FL @ House of Blues %
Tue. April 30 - Miami, FL @ Fillmore Miami Beach %
Wed. May 1 - Jacksonville, FL @ Mavericks %
Fri. May 3 - Mobile, AL @ Soul Kitchen %
Sun. May 12 – Bremen, DE @ Modernes *
Mon. May 13 – Hanover, DE @ Capitol *
Tue. May 14 – Leipzig, DE @ Taubchenthal *
Wed. May 15 – Vienna, AT – WUK *
Fri. May 17 – Hamburg, DE @ Gro├če Freiheit *
Sat. May 18 - Frankfurt, DE @ Batschkapp*
Sun. May 19 - Berlin, DE @ Huxleys *
Fri. May 24 - Manchester, UK @ Dot to Dot Festival
Sat. May 25 - Bristol, UK @ Dot to Dot Festival
Sun. May 26 - Nottingham, UK @ Dot to Dot Festival
Tue. May 28 - London, UK @ Bermondsey Social Club
Wed. May 29 - London, UK @ Bermondsey Social Club
Fri. May 31 - Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival
Mon. Jun 03 - Paris, FR - Le Boule Noire
Sun. June 16 - Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival
Tue. June 18 - Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Wed. June 19 - Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern
Fri. June 21 - Toronto, ON @ The Drake
Sat. June 22 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
Sun. June 23 - Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Mon. June 24 - Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Wed. June 26 - Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right
Thu. June 27 - Washington, DC @ DC9
Fri. June 28 - Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight
Sat. June 29 - Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
 
%  = with Lord Huron
* = with Giant Rooks

No comments:

Post a Comment