Thursday, April 26, 2018

Flasher - "Pressure"

Photo by Jen Dessinger
Last year we brought you a few of Flasher's singles, and since then we've been waiting to hear more from the Washington DC band. We're finally in luck since June will see the release of their debut album. While we wait, we can check out "Pressure," the first single from the album. 

Everything we loved about Flasher is on display here. "Pressure" is fairly straightforward modern alt rock with a bouncy, danceable flair. Maybe it's just the DC connection, but I hear some influence from bands like Rites of Spring or Fugazi. But, you know, fun. Most people are probably going to hear more DEVO or B-52's than those other bands, and they're probably right. It's a manic mixture that sounds fresh while drawing from the past.

You can watch the video for "Pressure" below. Constant Image, the debut album from Flasher, will be out June 8 on Domino Recording Co. You can pre-order a copy here. For more on Flasher, check them out on Facebook. Their current tour dates are below the video.


Thu. Apr. 19 - Albuquerque, NM @ Sunshine Theater w/ The Breeders
Fri. Apr. 20 - Norman, OK @ The Opolis
Wed. Apr. 25 - Birmingham, AL @ Iron City w/ The Breeders
Mon. Apr. 30 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel w/ The Breeders
Wed. June 6 - Philadelphia, PA @ Everybody Hits w/ Dehd
Fri. June 8 - Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere w/ Dehd, Public Practice
Sat. June 9 - Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre w/ Dehd
Sun. June 10 - Allston, MA @ Great Scott w/ Dehd
Mon. June 11 - Winooski, VT @ The Monkey House w/ Dehd
Tue. June 12 - Montreal, QC @ Brasserie Beaubien w/ Dehd
Wed. June 13 - Toronto, ON @ The Baby G w/ Dehd
Thu. June 14 - Detroit, MI @ El Club w/ Dehd
Fri. June 15 - Chicago, IL @ Schubas w/ Dehd
Sat. June 16 - Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry w/ Dehd
Mon. June 18 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon w/ Dehd
Tue. June 19 - Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop w/ Dehd
Thu. June 21 - Atlanta, GA @ The Earl w/ Dehd
Fri. June 22 - Durham, NC @ The Pinhook w/ Dehd
Sat. June 23 - Washington, DC @ Black Cat w/ Dehd
Fri. July 20 - Seattle, WA @ Capitol Hill Block Party

No comments:

Post a Comment