Thursday, October 31, 2019

Torres - "Good Scare"

Photo by Michael Lavine
Torres (aka Mackenzie Scott) has released three albums that have both worked and not worked for us, and, if the first single off her upcoming fourth album is any indication, this one might be the one that finally sucks us in completely. "Good Scare" is this beautifully powerful and epic alt-pop song. It's somehow one of Torres's most and least accessible songs at the same time. 

Scott says about the song: “Regarding ‘Good Scare,’ I guess I could say that falling in love is a lot like the Superman crawl. If you’re not familiar with Superman’s crawl, it’s a terrifying maneuver used in spelunking that’s only performed when certain passages are too narrow, so a person has to hold one arm against the body and the other above the head, all while trying to crawl forward. When you fall in love with someone, it’s scary like the Superman’s crawl, but you have no choice but to keep moving forward even though you have no idea what’s ahead of you.”

You can listen to "Good Scare" below. Silver Tongue, the upcoming album from Torres, will be out January 31 on Merge Records. You can pre-order a copy here. For more on Torres, check out her Facebook and Twitter. Current tour dates are below the song.



Sat. Nov. 2 - Durham, NC @ Motorco (early & late shows) *

Mon. Nov. 4 - Alexandria, VA @ The Birchmere *
Tue. Nov. 5 - Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live *
Wed. Nov. 6 - Somerville, MA @ Somerville Theatre *
Thu. Nov. 7 - Brooklyn, NY @ Murmrr Theatre *
Fri. Jan. 31 - Brooklyn, NY @ The Sultan Room (record release show)
Tue. March 3 - Bristol, UK @ The Louisiana
Wed. March 4 - Manchester, UK @ YES Basement
Thu. March 5 - London, UK @ Oslo
Fri. March 6 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique (Witloof Bar)
Sat. March 7 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso (Upstairs)
Mon. March 9 - Hamburg, DE @ Turmzimmer
Tue. March 10 - Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen
Wed. March 11 - Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain
Thu. March 12 - Heidelberg, DE @ Karlstorbahnhof
Fri. March 13 - Z├╝rich, CH @ Rote Fabrik
Sat. March 14 - Torino, IT @ Circolo della Musica
Mon. March 16 - Paris, FR @ Le Pop Up du Label
* = solo performance supporting Superchunk

No comments:

Post a Comment