Friday, June 12, 2015

The Cairo Gang - "Be What You Are"

Photo by Rachel Cassels
The Cairo Gang is mostly Emmett Kelly, who recorded most of their upcoming album, Goes Missing, on his own while travelling. "Be What You Are" is pure pop gold, reminiscent of British invasion bands like The Kinks and The Zombies. It features jangly guitars and some of the most infectious layered vocals you've heard in years. Luckily the beauty of this style of music is that it never quite sounds dated. It might sound like it's from a certain era that happened 50 years ago, but everything you've ever listened to since then borrows so heavily from it that it always sounds current. It's the kind of music you wish you hadn't missed, only now you haven't.

Goes Missing is due out June 23rd on God? Records. You can pre-order the album now, and be sure to check out The Cairo Gang's Facebook. Listen to "Be What You Are" below, and below that are tour dates, many opening for Mikal Cronin.


Sat. Sept. 5 - Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios $ 
Mon. Sept. 7 - Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret $ 
Thu. Sept. 10 - St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club $ 
Fri. Sept. 11 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon $ 
Sat. Sept. 12 - Ames, IA @ Maximum Ames Music Festival $ 
Mon. Sept. 14 - Cleveland, OH @ Happy Dog #$ 
Tue. Sept. 15 - Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place # 
Wed. Sept. 16 - Toronto, ON @ Adelaide Hall #$ 
Thu. Sept. 17 - Montreal, QC @ Pop Montreal at Fairmount #$ 
Fri. Sept. 18 - Allston, MA @ Great Scott #$ 
Sun. Sept. 20 - Woodstock, NY @ Bearsville Theater #$ 
Tue. Sept. 22 - Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall #$ 
Sat. Sept. 26 - Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace $ 
Sun. Sept. 27 - Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s $   

$ w/ Mikal Cronin # w/ Calvin Love

5 comments:

  1. There's something immediately dignified about this venue - it is beautifully designed, tasteful, and understated. Went to these comfy party places in the Bronx recently, just the right temperature, good food and great experience.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Useful post.Thanks for taking time to share this informative post to my vision.
    Regards,
    PEGA courses in Chennai | Best PEGA Training center in Chennai

    ReplyDelete
  3. Excellent post. I have read your blog it's very interesting and informative. Keep sharing.
    erp in chennai

    ReplyDelete
  4. You made some good points there. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog.
    Great work admin..Keep update more blog..
    Graphic design course in chennai

    ReplyDelete