Wednesday, March 9, 2022

JayWood - "God is a Reptile"

Photo by Tonje Thielesen

Jeremy Haywood-Smith is a Winnipeg musician who releases music under the name JayWood. His latest single, "God is a Reptile," is relatively straightforward music but still not quite like anything we've brought you before. The best description I can come up with is indie funk. The song has all the hallmarks of classic laid back funk from artists like Funkadelic and Isaac Hayes, but while those artists have a smooth sound, "God is a Reptile" is grimey. It's coming at you through a filter of psychedelia with crunchy indie rock guitars. While I adore classic funk from the 70's, it's great to see an artist like JayWood take the genre and blow the normal parameters off completely.

Jeremy Haywood-Smith says of his new song:

“‘God Is A Reptile’ feels like the angstiest part of myself. I wrote it at a time where I was experiencing a lot of anger all at once and I really just wanted to focus it into something healthy."

You can watch the video for "God is a Reptile" below. The song is available as a single via Captured Tracks, and can be downloaded over at Bandcamp. For more on JayWood, check out the artist's Facebook and Twitter. Upcoming tour dates are below the video.


Sat. March 12 - Salado, TX @ Barrow Brewing CompanyTue. March 15 - Austin, TX @ Swan Dive (SXSW)Fri. March 18 - Austin, TX @ Cheer Up Charlies (SXSW)Fri. March 18 - Austin, TX @ ValhallaWed. March 23 - Boise, ID @ Treefort FestivalFri. March 25 - Tucson, AZ @ 191 Toole *Sat. March 26 - San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar *Sun. March 27 - Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room *Mon. March 28 - Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *Tue. March 29 - San Francisco, CA @ August Hall *Thu. March 31 - Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge *Sat. Apr. 2 - Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre *Mon. Apr. 4 - Boise, ID @ Neurolux *Tue. Apr. 5 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Soundwell *Thu. Apr. 7 - Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *Thu. May 5 - Wrexham, UK @ Penny Black Room (FOCUS Wales)Fri. May 6 - Wrexham, UK @ Ty Pawb (FOCUS Wales)Sat. May 7 - London, UK @ The Fox InnSat. May 14 - Brighton, UK @ Green Door Store (TGE)  * w/ Molly Burch

1 comment:

  1. Wow, amazing block structure! How long
    Have you written a blog before? Working on a blog seems easy.
    The overview of your website is pretty good, not to mention what it does.
    In the content!
    vstkey.com
    Valhalla Plate Crack
    OpenShot Video Editor Crack
    plugin alliance all bundle Crack
    Adobe Acrobat Pro DC Crack

    ReplyDelete