Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Marlon Williams - "Dark Child"

Photo by Justyn Strother
As we get closer to the US release of Marlon Williams' debut album, we have a new song to check out. While "Hello Miss Lonesome" was more of a raucous Americana track, "Dark Child" is more slower paced traditional singer-songwriter fare, albeit in a very dark way. It starts off pretty minimal and quiet, with nothing really making it stand out besides Williams' striking vocals. Around the 3:00 mark, chaos starts forcing its way out. The song is still slow, but gets loud and surprisingly aggressive for a bit. Based on how "Hello Miss Lonesome" ended, this might be his trademark.

Marlon Williams' self-titled debut is due out in the US on February 19. You can pre-order it through Amazon. For more info on Marlon Williams, check out his website, Facebook, and Twitter. Check out the video for "Dark Child" below, and you can find his current tour dates below that.


Mon. Jan. 18 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique
Thu. Jan. 21 – London, UK @ St. Pancras Old Church
Fri. Jan. 29 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club – SOLD OUT
Sun. Jan. 31 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Mon. Feb. 1 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Feb. 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Brick & Mortar
Wed. Feb. 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Bar
Fri. Feb. 5 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge
Sat. Feb. 6 – Toronto, ON @ Dakota Tavern
Mon. Feb. 8 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement
Tue. Feb. 9 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Wed. Feb. 10 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern
Thu. Feb. 18 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Sat. Feb. 20 – Nantes, FR @ Le Stereolux (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Sun. Feb. 21 – Mérignac, FR @ Krakatoa (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Mon. Feb. 22 – Rouen, FR @ Le 106 (Festival Les Nuits De L’Alligator)
Sun. Feb. 28 – Perth, WA @ Perth International Arts Festival
Sat. March 5 – Melbourne, AU @ Melbourne Zoo
Wed. March 9 – Auckland, NZ @ Powerstation
Fri. March 11 – Sydney, AU @ Taronga Zoo
Sat. March 12 – Lonestar Valley, TAS @ A Festival Called Panama
Sun. March 13 – Mon. March 14 – Adelaide, SA @ Womadelaide
Tue. March 15 – Sun. March 20 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

1 comment:

  1. This place has the most perfect environment for whatever fun activity you are looking for. If you want a low key and more intimate atmosphere, come and hang out here. If you want the party scene, weekends at LA event venues are where it's at!

    ReplyDelete