Wednesday, December 8, 2021

Squirrel Flower - "ruby at dawn"

Photo by Jesse Ward

Despite releasing the excellent Planet (i) earlier this year, Squirrel Flower is set to release a new EP next month. Planet consists of self-recorded demos of songs that didn't make it to the album, songs that were recorded for the album but left off, and a Bjork cover. Upon listening to "ruby at dawn," these songs are hardly leftovers. It may be a little stripped down compared to Planet (i), but this new song has everything we love from Squirrel Flower. It's a beautiful and haunting song with roots in indie rock, folk, and pop. It's one of Squirrel Flower's songs that puts Ella Williams' vocals out front, for good reason. Williams is particularly captivating on "ruby at dawn" with her voice just building throughout the song.

You can listen to "ruby at dawn" below. Planet is due out January 28 on Polyvinyl. You can pre-order/pre-save the EP here. For more on Squirrel Flower, check out the artist's website. Upcoming tour dates are below the song.


Thu. Feb. 3 - Urbana, IL @ Rose Bowl Tavern %Fri. Feb. 4 - Columbus, OH @ Rumba Cafe %Sat. Feb. 5 - Hamtramck, MI @ The Sanctuary %Sun. Feb. 6 - Lakewood, OH @ Mahall’s 20 Lanes %Mon. Feb. 7 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe %Wed. Feb. 9 - New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge %Thu. Feb. 10 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair  %Fri. Feb. 11 - Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right &Sat. Feb. 12 - Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA &Mon. Feb. 14 - Washington, DC @ Songbyrd &Wed. Feb. 16 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle - Back Room  &Thu. Feb. 17 - Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade (Purgatory) &Fri. Feb. 18 - Nashville, TN @ The High Watt &Sat. Feb. 19 - Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar &Sun. Feb. 20 - Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern &Wed. March 2 - St. Louis, MO @ Blueberry Hill Duck Room @Thu. March 3 - Fayetteville, AR @ George’s Majestic Lounge @Fri. March 4 - Dallas, TX @ Ruins @Sat. March 5 - Austin, TX @ Meanwhile Brewing @Mon. March 7- Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress @Tue. March 8 - San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar @Wed. March 9 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo @Thu. March 10 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop @Sat. March 12 - Portland, OR @ Polaris Hall @ Sun. March 13 - Seattle, WA @ Barboza @Tue. March 15 - Boise, ID @ The Shredder @Thu. March 17 - Denver, CO @ Lost Lake Lounge @Sat. March 19 - Omaha, NE @ Reverb @Sun. March 20 - Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry @Sun. April 17 - Glasgow, UK @ Nice N SleazyMon. April 18 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social ClubWed. April 20 - Manchester, UK @ The White HotelThu. April 21 - London, UK @ LafayetteSat. April 23 - Bristol, UK @ The LouisianaSun. April 24 - Brighton, UK @ The Green Door StoreTue. April 26 - Cologne, DE @ Blue ShellWed. April 27 - Luxembourg, LU @ RotondesThu. April 28 - Hamburg, DE @ Molotow SkybarFri. April 29 - Berlin, DE @ BadehausSun. May 1 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso (Small Hall)Tue. May 3 - Z├╝rich, CH @ Bogen FWed. May 4 - Paris, FR @ Hasard LudiqueThu. May 5 - Gent, BE @ Charlatan % w/ Mia Joy& w/ Christelle Bofale@ w/ Tenci$ w/ Maria BC

2 comments:

  1. Hello guys, I just want to share my joyful experience about HACK VANISH CREDIT SPECIALIST. Before the coronavirus pandemic, I had criminal Judgments, few evictions, and late payment which negatively impacted my credit score down to 487 and left me in difficult financial situation, as a single mum of 3, I needed a loan to keep the family running after I lost my husband as a result of COVID-19, all hope were lost, until Mrs. Olivia referred me to HACK VANISH, a credit genius who was very helpful in fixing my credit 6 days after I reached out to him via Email: hackvanish (At) gmail (Dot) com and Phone: +1(747) 293-8514, throughout the process, I felt so involved because an open line of communication was maintained till I got my FICO score restored to 796, currently my loan application has been approved. If you need to hire a credible hacker, HACK VANISH is highly recommended.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Welcome to the future! Financing made easy with Prof. Mrs. DOROTHY JEAN INVESTMENTS

    Hello, Have you been looking for financing options for your new business plans, Are you seeking for a loan to expand your existing business, Do you find yourself in a bit of trouble with unpaid bills and you don’t know which way to go or where to turn to? Have you been turned down by your banks? MRS. DOROTHY JEAN INVESTMENTS says YES when your banks say NO. Contact us as we offer financial services at a low and affordable interest rate of 2% for long and short term loans. Interested applicants should contact us for further loan acquisition procedures via profdorothyinvestments@gmail.com

    We invest in all profitable projects with cryptocurrencies. I'm here to share an amazing life changing opportunity with you. its called Bitcoin / Forex trading options, Are you interested in earning a consistent income through binary/forex trade? or crypto currency trading. An investment of $100 or $200 can get you a return of $2,840 in 7 days of trading and you get to do this from the comfort of your home/work. It goes on and on The higher the investment, the higher the profits. Your investment is safe and secured and payouts assured 100%. if you wish to know more about investing in Cryptocurrency and earn daily, weekly OR Monthly in trading on bitcoin or any cryptocurrency and want a successful trade without losing Contact MRS.DOROTHY JEAN INVESTMENTS Email profdorothyinvestments@gmail.com


    YOURS IN SERVICE
    Mrs. Dorothy Pilkenton Jean
    Financial Advisor on Bank Instruments,
    Private Banking and Client Services
    Email Address: profdorothyinvestments@gmail.com
    Operation: We provide Financial Service Such As Bank Instrument
    From AA Rate Banks, Cash Loan,BG,SBLC,BOND,PPP,MTN,TRADING,FUNDING MONETIZING etc.

    ReplyDelete